2018 Sword-making School Class Schedule

March 2018
Monday March 26 – Friday, March 30 – Basic Japanese Sword Forging Course

April 2018
Saturday, March 31 – Sunday, April 1 – Kajioshi Course

Saturday, April 7 – Sunday, April 8: Oregon Knife Collectors Association (OKCA) Knife Show in Eugene, Oregon

Monday, April 16 – Friday, April 22 – Advanced Katana Forging Course

May 2018
Monday, May 14 – Friday, May 18 – Basic Japanese Sword Forging Course

Saturday, May 20 – Sunday, May 21 – Introduction to Forging Bi-metal Woodworking Tools

June 2018
Monday, June 25 – Friday, June 29 – Basic Japanese Sword Forging Course

July 2018
Saturday, June 30 – Sunday, July 1 – Habaki Course

Monday, July 30 – Friday, August 3 – Kajioshi/Habaki Combo-Course

August 2018
Monday, August 6 – Friday, August 10 – Koshirae/Shirasaya (Scabbard & Handle) Course

Saturday, August 11 – Sunday, August 12 – Tsuka-maki (Handle-wrapping) Course

September 2018
Monday, September 3 – Friday, September 7 – Forging the Working Knife

October 2018
Monday, October 1 – Friday, October 5 – Basic Japanese Sword Forging Course

Saturday, October 6 – Sunday, October 7 – Kajioshi Course

“I have discovered the secret of sword-smithing: hard work.” – A student’s Journal during their time at Tomboyama.

Marcus Ranum, who attended our Basic Forging Course last October, shared his experience as a student at Tomboyama through a day-by-day journal of the class.

Dragonfly Forge trip report – main page

His descriptions and photos provide an excellent peek at the 5-day swordsmithing processes taught at Dragonfly Forge to transform a section of wire rope into a wakizashi, a Japanese-style short sword. He also touches upon the frustrations and triumphs of learning completely new skills. Marcus also shares the secret to swordsmithing: hard work.

Thank you Marcus for documenting your time with us and sharing it.

Gabriel Bell Returns to HISTORY Channel’s “Forged In Fire” Season 3

Tomboyama is proud to announce that it’s very own assistant swordsmithing instructor, Gabriel Bell, will be competing in the upcoming season finale of History Channel’s hit show Forged in Fire. Forged in Fire Season 3 Episode 16 will air on Tuesday, February 14th 7pm EST on History Channel. The episode titled “Redemption” will be Gabriel’s second appearance on the show.

http://www.history.com/shows/forged-in-fire/season-3/episode-16

Forged in Fire has been a hit show for History Channel and continues to set viewership records. Its popularity got it renewed for a fourth season and is great indicator of the growing enthusiasm in the techniques and traditions of swordsmithing.

We invite our dear alumni, friends and family to tune in and join us as we cheer him on. If you are in the Portland, Oregon area, Gabriel is hosting a live episode viewing party that night (Februrary 14th) at Shut Up And Eat restaurant on SE Gladstone. Food and Drinks are available. And yes, kids are welcome! Best of luck Gabe!

2017 Sword-making School Class Schedule

March 2017
Monday March 27 – Friday, March 31 – Basic Forging Course

April 2017
Saturday, April 1 – Sunday, April 2 – Kajioshi Course

Saturday, April 8 – Sunday, April 9: Oregon Knife Collectors Association (OKCA) Knife Show in Eugene, Oregon

Monday, April 17 – Friday, April 21 – Basic Forging Course

Saturday, April 22 – Sunday, April 23 – Habaki Course

May 2017
Monday, May 15 – Friday, May 19 – Intermediate Forging Course

Saturday, May 20 – Sunday, May 21 – Kajioshi Course

Monday, May 29 – Friday, June 2 – Kajioshi-Habaki Combo-Course

June 2017
Monday, June 26 – Friday, June 30 – Basic Forging Course

July 2017
Saturday, July 1 – Sunday, July 2 – Kajioshi Course

Monday, July 24 – Friday, July 28 – Basic Forging Course

Saturday, July 29 – Sunday, July 30 – Habaki Course

August 2017
Monday, August 21 – Friday, August 25 – Koshirae Course

Saturday, August 26 – Sunday, August 27 – Tsuka-maki (Handle-wrapping) Course

September 2017

Monday, September 4 – Friday, September 8 – Basic Forging Course

Saturday, September 9 – Sunday, September 10 – Kajioshi Course

October 2017
Monday, October 2 – Friday, October 6 – Basic Forging Course

Saturday, October 7 – Sunday, October 8 – Habaki Course

“Earth, Wind, Water, and Fire: The Art and Science of the Japanese Sword”

March 14th, at 7pm PST, Michael and Gabriel Bell of Dragonfly Forge will be the featured speakers of “Earth, Wind, Water, and Fire: The Art and Science of the Japanese Sword” at Linfield College in Mcminnville, Oregon. The panel discussion will include Tianbo Xao, professor of physic, Brian Winkenwder, professor of art history, Chris Keaveney, professor of Japanese, and Jesus Ilundain-Agurruza, professor of philosophy. The event will be held in Ice Auditorium in Melrose Hall.

The event is free and open to the public. The lecture will also be live streamed from those unable to attend. Link to follow soon.Linfield - March 14th Seminar